Aotearoa Music Awards have announced their Best Māori Artist and Mana Reo finalists

Publish Date
Thursday, 18 April 2024, 10:18AM
Hayley Sproull and Stan Walker - 2021 Aotearoa Music Award Hosts.
Photo / Getty Images

Hayley Sproull and Stan Walker - 2021 Aotearoa Music Award Hosts. Photo / Getty Images

The Aotearoa Music awards is a yearly showcase that celebrates Aotearoa artists.

With nearly a 60-year history, this awards showcase has evolved to have a focus on music and artists that reflect the unique cultural identity within Aotearoa. 

The awards are taking place on 30 May at the Viaduct Events Centre in Tāmaki Makaurau and the finalists for the Mana Reo award and Best Māori Artist award have been announced and is packed with talent.

The judging for the Mana Reo award is looking how the music will grow the interest and appeal of te reo and te ao Māori within mainstream music. Judges will also look at artistic merit, how reo Māori is prioritised in their music and commercial success.

The Best Māori Artist award now has a new te reo translation for this award; Te Manu Taki Māori o te Tau. This is awarded to an artist whose music reflects a unique Māori identity and/or an expression of te ao Māori.

Te Māngai Pāho Mana Reo Tūī finalists are:

COTERIE (Te Aupōuri, Ngāpuhi & Ngāi Te Rangi)

Jordyn with a Why (Tainui Āwhiro, Mulifanua Lalovi, Falelatai & Vaimoso)

MOHI (He maramara nō Rāhiri, nō Te Tai Tokerau whānui. Tauranga Moana, Tauranga Tāngata, he Ngāti Tapu ahau. Nā Kahungunu, nā Te Wairoa hōki)

Stan Walker (Ngāi Tūhoe, Ngāi Te Rangi, Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāti Pūkenga, Tūhourangi Ngāti Wāhiao, Ngāti Pikiao, Ngāti Whakaue, Ngāti Porou, Ngāi Tahu & Ngāpuhi)

TAWAZ (Ngāti Rangitāne)

Tuari Brothers (Te Aitanga a Hauiti, Ngāti Porou, Te Aitanga a Mahaki, Ngāi Tāmanuhiri, Te Whānau a Apanui, Ngāti Kahungunu, Rongomaiwahine, Ngāi Tuhoe)


Te Māngai Pāho Te Manu Taki Māori o te Tau Tūī finalists are:

● Jordyn with a Why


● Rei (Ngāti Raukawa, Ngāti Huia)

● Stan Walker


● Tuari Brothers

Recorded Music CEO Jo Oliver is stoked for this year's showcase, “We are honoured to recognise the contributions these finalists have made to the Aotearoa music industry. I can’t wait to celebrate what they have achieved at the Awards in May, and I’m looking forward to seeing what they do in the years ahead."

The best from ZM’s Friday Jams – every Friday from 9am on ZM!

Take your Radio, Podcasts and Music with you