What you should delete off your Facebook ASAP

Publish Date
Friday, 13 April 2018, 10:47AM
Photo: Getty Images

Photo: Getty Images

There's been a lot of talk lately about the privacy issues with Facebook. The recent Cambridge Analytica scandal saw millions of Facebook users information leaked so if there's any time to review what you share on Facebook, it's now. 

Here's what you may want to start with: 

Birthday

Your birthday is one part of an important puzzle which also includes your name and address, with which people can more easily access your bank account and personal details.

Phone number

The best case scenario here is acquiring a polite admirer. Worst case scenario? A stalker who calls you incessantly.

MORE: 

      - How to find out if someone has blocked you on Facebook

Most of your "friends"

Oxford psychology professor Robin Dunbar theorised that humans can maintain approximately 150 stable relationships.

After looking at 3,375 Facebook users, Dunbar found that of their Facebook friends, 4.1 were considered dependable, and 13.6 exhibited sympathy during an “emotional crisis.”

Getting rid of the deadwood can make for a healthier interaction with social media.

Location services

Location services is only available on Android or iPhones.

In 2015 TechCrunch reported that over 500 million users accessed Facebook solely from their mobile, which means that the same number has the potential to broadcast their location online, and anyone who may or may not wish you harm now knows where are you.

Stop tagging your location

Tagging yourself at work? The internet now knows where you work. Tagging yourself at home? You just broadcasted your address. 

When and where you're going for holiday

It screams "I'm not at home, so my home contents are available for the taking!" and travellers who are burgled while they are on holiday may not get their insurance claim accepted if they posted their holiday plans on their social media accounts.

MORE:

      - There's a secret trick for reading Facebook messages without it being ‘seen’

Your relationship status

This isn't so much for safety or privacy. This is to save you from the dreaded "Dave is now single" if that relationship doesn't work out...